Lead

Apr 16 17 7:09 PM

Tags : :

Daily ShoutsSteve Bannon’s Cover LetterBy Broti Gupta and Karen Chee  April 6, 2017 image PHOTOGRAPH BY T. J. KIRKPATRICK / THE NEW YORK TIMES / REDUX Dear Sir or Madam who is a secretary to Sir,Hello! My name is Steve Bannon, and I am applying to work for your organization.First, let me introduce myself. I am relatable in that I look like an everyman but act like a Disney villain, two archetypes that people know and love. I have even made the great sacrifice of forgoing the name “Stephen” for “Steve,” a casual, potentially middle-class name (note: I am not middle class). And people think white men don’t have to make sacrifices!As an undergraduate at Virginia Tech, I majored in urban planning, which gave me the confidence to use the word “urban” to describe all the people I don’t like. I briefly studied abroad in Japan before transferring to Russia, where there were more white people and I felt more at home. Needless to say, I am cultured. I can speak fluently to Russians who understand English and have mastered the Japanese phrase, “How do I leave your country? Where is Russia?”At Virginia Tech, I engaged in many activities that strengthened my communication, critical-thinking, and leadership skills. As the senior adviser to the president of the Pale Awareness Club (PAC), I insured that our president never veered from our mission of fighting for the rights of those with pale complexions. I also fought for the supremacy of this club over other cultural organizations (an endeavor I dubbed Super PAC) and organized two mixers every semester with the Outdoors Club, which celebrates keeping immigrants outdoors. Often, I took over the responsibilities of the president while he was busy partying with spring breakers in Florida. During this time, I also made sure to keep the PAC newsletter, Alt-White, in circulation.After graduation, I attended Harvard Business School, where I learned about the frankly horrifying wage gap, the life-threate